News: News 08-11-2021


Annual General Meeting

The AGM of Athlone Tennis Club took place on Thursday last, and it was well attended by members of the club. The meeting commenced with chairperson Lisa Brennan welcoming everyone to the meeting. Club secretary, Corona Grennan, then read out the minutes of last year’s AGM, which were approved by the members.

The committee for the upcoming year was then appointed following nominations from the members. The committee is as follows:

Chairperson: Cathal Kenny

Vice-chairperson: Oliver McGrath

Secretary: Corona Grennan

Treasurer: Julie Costello

Membership secretary: John Cooney

Men’s captain: Des Windsor-McGlynn

Ladies captain: Lola Fernandez Palos

PRO: Clem Higginbotham

Junior organizer: Lisa Brennan

Executive committee: Martin O Rourke, Jacinta Digby, Rob Kearney, Keran McCarthy, and Sai Palada

The outgoing chairperson, Lisa Brennan, thanked all the new Committee members for their willingness to help out with the club and noted that good people were stepping up with helpful skill sets.  She said she was looking forward to concentrating on getting the junior program up and running so that juniors would be playing competitive matches against other clubs in the coming season. A junior committee will be set up in the coming weeks. Lisa said a special word of thanks to David Costello. She said there would be no tennis club in Athlone without David. It was noted that he had spent a long number of years on the committee and would be missed from the committee; it was noted that he was always found to be extremely honest and passionate about the club.

The new Chairperson, Cathal Kenny, thanked the membership for his nomination and appointment as Chairperson. He thanked the outgoing chair Lisa Brennan and noted that she had stepped up to the task when the club was in need. On a personal level he noted that he always found her to be of good temperament and selfless in her work for the club. He noted that she had fulfilled her role as chairperson extremely well.

Cathal stated that he had become a member of Athlone Tennis club 13 years ago, along with his wife Stephane. He noted that there was a big task ahead in bringing the new development to fruition and he hoped that his work on behalf of the club would achieve the best possible results for the club; he said he would work with the new committee to achieve this. He also thanked David Costello for his commitment over a long number of years and stated that he had been a keystone in the club for decades.


Senior Winter Leagues

The senior winter leagues are continuing, and members are reminded that all matches must be played by the end of November.

Ladies’ Groups

Group 1: Paula Dowling, Julie Costello, Orla Kinahan, Emma Fagan, Anne Dooley, Lola Fernandez Palos

Group 2: Rosemary Thorpe, Aislinn Campion Ryan, Maree Brennan, Natasha Shine, Rose Costello, Madhu Bhyrraju, Yvonne Walsh

Group 3: Clare Brett, Sharon Carthy, Maria Mc Lynn, Cathy Smith, Paula O’ Connor, Cathy Kelly, Mary Parker, Mary O’ Neill

Group 4: Danielle Henaghan, Leona Mc Court, Olive Whyte, Corona Grennan, Maria Moulton, Deirdre O’Mara

Group 5: Amanda Connolly, Michelle Earl, Catherine Kelly, Janette Mullin, Sandra Ronan, Niru Sundaresan

Men’s Groups

Group 1: Kieran Mc Carthy, Harry O’ Rourke, Des Windsor Mc Glynn, David Manser, Rob Kearney, Jeremy Clarke

Group 2: Richard Frank, Sai Palada, Ricky Simpson, Dave Costello, Ronan Flanagan, Martin O’ Rourke, Olly Mc Grath

Group 3: Cathal Kenny, John Bray, Brendan Maginess, Darragh Elliott, Isaac Del Saz Palos, Sundar Balasubramanian, Marek Rose

Group 4: Puneet Nayyar, Atin Kohli, Padraig O’ Connor, Michael Bleahane, Barry O’ Shea, Cathal Joyce

Group 5: Brian Menton, Robbie Ryan, Soquslav Stauyk, Seamus Maguire, Sean O’ Meara, Andres Leal


Club nights

Club nights continue on Monday (men’s night), Wednesday (ladies’ night) and Thursday (mixed doubles night). Play begins at 7.30 each night, so grab your racket and come on down to the club for a night of fun.



Coaching continues for juniors on Saturdays from 10-2. Please contact coach Clem Higginbotham (086 402 2490) for information and to book a place.

Back to News