News: News 20-09-2021


Club Development at ARSC

 The selling of the ten year bond scheme, to members and to the public, is well advanced with over €100.000 raised to date. Leader has contributed €150,000 and the club’s contribution will enable us to provide the club with three floodlit courts and a temporary clubhouse.

The fifty year lease of the 1.3 acre site, at the Regional Sports Centre, will ensure our club has a permanent home for the first time. The site will enable the club to build three further courts, hopefully under a dome which will greatly enhance the conditions for playing tennis. 

 Further information about the bond scheme and the proposed development can be obtained by emailing

Senior Club Championships

 The Sidero Technology Solutions sponsored senior club championships, commenced last week. All players who lose their first round match have at least a second match in the plate event.  The finals are to be played either the first Saturday or Sunday in October depending on the weather. Singles winners during the past week were Peter Agbanobi, Dave Costello, Des Windsor Mc Glynn, Sai Palada, Barry O’ Shea, Darragh Elliott, Sundar Balasubramanian, Paula Dowling, Emma Fagan, Lola Fernandez Palos, Maree Brennan, Corona Grennan, Olive Whyte,  Sharon Carthy, Paula O’ Connor, Mary Parker. Mixed doubles winners were Paula Dowling/Richard Frank, Jacinta Digby/Ricky Simpson, Ann O’ Sullivan/Peter Agbanobi, Yvonne Walsh/Benny Maginess and Julie Costello/Sundar Balasubramanian. Ladies doubles winners were Michele Culligan/Noreen Reidy and Orla Kinahan/Yvonne Walsh. Men’s doubles winners were Jeremy Clarke/Sundar Balasubramanian and Kieran Mc Carthy/Dave Costello.

Men’s Singles: Sean Raftery V Rob Kearney, Dave Costello v Cathal Joyce, winner V Martin O’ Rourke, Peter Agbanobi V Richard Frank, Kieran Mc Carthy V Benny Maginess, winner V David Manser, Ricky Simpson V Des Windsor Mc Glynn, winner V Ronan Flanagan, Michael Doheny V Sai Palada, Barry O’ Shea V George Bodor, Olly Mc Grath V Jeremy Clarke.

Ladies’ Singles: Hillary Flynn V Emma Fagan, winner V Lisa Brennan, Lola Fernandez Palos V Yvonne Walsh, Mary O’ Neill V Paula Dowling

Ladies’ Doubles: Lisa Brennan/Maree Brennan V Lola Fernandez Palos/Loretto Lee, Jacinta Digby/Hillary Ryan V Orla Kinahan/Yvonne Walsh, Michele Culligan/Noreen Reidy V Julie Costello/Mary O’ Neill, Ann O’ Sullivan/Martina Hardiman V Paula Dowling/Rose Costello

Men’s Doubles: George Bodor/Richard Frank V Jeremy Clarke/ Sundar Balasubramanian, winner V Ronan Flanagan/Peter Agbonabi, Rob Kearney/Olly Mc Grath V Des Windsor Mc Glynn/Barry O’ Shea, Sai Palada/Cathal Kenny V Kieran Mc Carthy/Dave Costello

Mixed Doubles: Martina Hardiman/Sai Palada V Jacinta Digby/Ricky Simpson, Loretto Lee/Kieran McCarthy V Yvonne Walsh/Benny Maginess, Orla Kinahan/Barry O’ Shea V Ann O’ Sullivan/Peter Agbanobi, Mary O’ Neill/Rob Kearney V Julie Costello/ Sundar Balasubramanian, winner V Lola Fernandez/Dave Costello, Rose Costello/George Bodor V Paula Dowling/Richard Frank, winner V Joan Conway/Olly Mc Grath

Ida Smith Cup; Maree Brennan V Jeanette Mullen, Corona Grennan V Niranjani Sundaresan, Michelle Earle V Sharon Carthy, Ashling Ryan V Paula O’ Connor, Hillary Flynn V Leona Mc Court, Amanda Connolly V Mary Parker, Louise Costello V Olive Whyte, Natasha Shine v Martina Hardiman

Dave Costello Cup: Sundar Balasubramanian V Cathal Joyce, Robbie Ryan V Andres Leal, winner V Seamus Maguire, Frankie Simon V Darragh Elliott, winner V David Monaghan, Brian Menton V Barry O’ Shea

New Members

 It has been an excellent year for our club with many children and adults joining and getting enormous pleasure from playing the game. We appreciate the coaching sessions provided by Lisa and Clem for our junior and senior members. New members are welcome to join our club now at a special discount. Please visit our website,, for further information and read what our tennis club has to offer you. Please email for further information.

 Laver Cup

 The 4th challenge for the Laver Cup between Europe and Team World takes place this weekend. Team Europe members are Daniil Medvedev, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Alexander Zverev, Andrey Rublev, Matteo Berrettini and Casper Rudd. Team World members are Diego Schwartzman, Denis Shapovalov, Felix Auger-Alisassime, Reilly Opelka, John Isner and Nick Kyrgios, the latter may bring a little colour and excitement to the event. Team Europe captain is Bjorn Borg and his team have won the three previous challenges. John Mc Enroe will be hoping to end Europe’s dominance in Boston.




Back to News