News: News 03-08-2020


Junior Club Championships

 Lisa Brennan is organising and running the junior club championships this week from 10 to 1pm. Best of luck to all the girls and boys from under 10 to under 18.

Junior Summer Camp

 Clem Higginbotham is organising a junior summer camp from Monday 17th please call Clem to book a place and for further information at 0864022490.

Senior Summer Singles Leagues

  Lisa Brennan leads Group 1 of the ladies league, Joan Conway and Evgeniya Yurchanko are the leading ladies in Group 2, Anne Dooley, Yvonne Walsh and Lola Palos are the leading ladies in Groups 3, 4 and 5 respectively.

Harry O’ Rourke leads Groups 1 and the leading players in Group 2 are Martin O’ Rourke, John Galvin and Sai Palada of the men’s league. Conor Jones and Marek Rose were winners in Group 3 while Peter and Samuel Agbanobi are leading Group 4. Branislav Kris leads Group 5, George Jebaraj and Varun Roa were winners in Group 6 last week. Promotion await the top two players in each group with the winners of the group 1 in each league reaching the top of their respective pyramids. All matches to be completed by 15th August with no walk overs allowed.

Ladies’ Singles Summer League

Group 1: Lisa Brennan, Anna Walsh, Orla Kinahan, Rose Costello, Julie Costello, Stephanie Kenny,

Group 2: Paula Dowling, Michele Culligan, Joan Conway, Sine Mcfarlane, Evgeniya Yurchanko

Group 3: Mary O’ Neill, Mary Jo O’ Farrell, Melanie Whyte, Anne Dooley, Deborah Mc Keown

Group 4: Louise Costello, Noreen Reidy, Yvonne Walsh, Amie Maher, Martina Hardiman, Loretta Lee

Group 5: Lola Palos Fernandez, Natasha Shine, Sinead Reidy, Corona Grennan, Marie Brennan

Men’s Singles Summer League

Group 1: Des Windsor Mc Glynn, Harry O’Rourke, George Bodor, Rob Kearney, Richard Frank, David Manser

Group 2: Cathal Kenny, John Galvin, Dave Costello, Jimmy Raleigh, Martin O’ Rourke, Sai Palada

Group 3: Marek Rose, John Cooney, Pat Conway, Kieran Mc Carthy, Conor Jones, John Bray, Olly Mc Grath

Group 4: Jerome Schuwey, Peter Agbanobi, Samuel Agbanobi, Kieran Mc Nally, Sean Nolan, Kevin Nolan

Group 5: Andres Leal, Benny Magennis, John Hannon, Conall O’ Brien, Branislav Kris, Jesus Areso

Group 6: Brian Menton, Sean Reidy, Eamon Maher, George Jebaraj, Prince Paulson, Varun Rao, Samir Quzougagh, Joe Dalby

Men’s Summer Doubles League

 John Galvin and John Hannon, were Monday’s doubles winners, claiming four points each, in the men’s doubles summer league. Kieran Mc Nally and Marek Rose were runners up, gaining three points each. Rob Kearney and Benny Maginess were awarded two points each while Sai Palada and Joe Dalby as were Dave Costello Jesus Areso also point winners. Draw for partners in next Monday’s competition is at 7.30.

Wednesday’s Ladies Competition

 Another wet Wednesday evening, with no tennis action for the ladies. No comment otherwise but the draw for partners is at 7.30, all lady members welcome to participate in the action.

Thursday’s Mixed Doubles Competition

 There was an excellent turn out last Thursday evening, for our mixed doubles social event. The Court 1 and 2 mixed doubles couples were Anne Dooley Isaac Del Saz Palos, Lola Palos Fernandez  Dave Costello,  Julie Costello Kieran Mc Carthy, Jacinta Digby John O’ Connell, and Evgeniya Yurchenko John Galvin. Court 3 and 4 couples were Lisa Brennan Joe Dalby, Rose Costello Sean Nolan, Ann O’ Sullivan Sai Palada and Kevin Noan Jesus Areso. After the groups had completed their round robin series of matches, four finals ended the evening’s entertaining action shortly after 9.30.

 Covid 19 Recommendations

 All members are urged to bring their own hand sanitizer, however the club has installed a hand sanitise dispenser near the club house door.

Sunday’s Mixed Doubles

 Last Sunday’s mixed doubles was played in fine sunny conditions. The competing duos were Claudia and Joe Dalby, Lola and Isaac Del Saz Palos, Rose and Dave Costello, Evgeniya and Marek Rose and Sean Nolan and Kieran Mc Nally.  By 1 pm all players were feeling the effect of the sun and exercise and made way for the juniors for the next two hours. This event is organised every Sunday morning from 11am.

Back to News