News: News 05-11-2018


Denis Johnston Memorial Cup

Congratulations to Lisa Brennan, Orla Kinahan, John Galvin and Richard Frank who won the Denis Johnston Memorial Cup in Mullingar last Sunday. Our quartet successfully saw off the challengers from Cavan, Longford and Mullingar tennis clubs. This is the third time Athlone tennis teams have raised this trophy.
See photo in Gallery

Halloween Spooky Tennis

Our initial mixed doubles Halloween spooky tennis event organised by Marek Rose was well supported and a great success. Deirdre Cox partnered Marek and competed successfully on the night. Sine Mcfarlane and Jimmy Raleigh were also a formidable combination while Laura O Cluaid and John Galvin were very competitive. The Mary Jo O’ Farrell/Kieran Mc Carthy, Rose and Dave Costello pairings were also in the points, the latter winning on scariness.
See photos in Gallery

Senior Autumn Leagues

In the ladies’ league Paula Dowling, Anna Walsh, Laura O’ Cluaid, Roisin Casey, Julie Costello, Mary Jo O' Farrell, Carmel and Lisa Kelly tasted success during the past week. Harry O’ Rourke leads Group A while George Bodor is still unbeaten in Group B of the men’s league. Kieran Mc Carthy is the leading player in Group C. All matches are best of three sets, the third set may be a 'match tie-break'. Ladies matches, excluding top group, are first to 9 games. All results must be entered on the sheets posted in the clubhouse. No walkovers allowed.
Men’s Groups
Group A: Harry O'Rourke, Jeremy Clarke, David Manser, Sean Raftery, Des Windsor Mc Glynn, Peter Agbanobi.
Group B: Rob Kearney, Martin O'Rourke, George Bodor, Tim Clarke, Marek Rose, Lucas Mierzwa.
Group C: Kieron McCarthy, Richard Frank, John Cooney, Jimmy Raleigh, Cathal Kenny.
Group D: Pat Conway, David Walsh, Dave Costello, John Bray, Michael Flynn, Michael Rogers.

Ladies’ Groups 
Group A: Lisa Brennan, Orla Gavin, Paula Dowling, Laura Hunt, Michelle Culligan.
Group B: Mary Jo O'Farrell, Laura O'Cluaid, Rose Costello, Joan Conway, Roisin Casey.
Group C: Jacinta Digby, Anna Walsh, Julie Costello, Oonagh Collins, Stephane Kenny, Sine McFarlane.
Group D: Rosemary Thorpe, Mary O'Neill, Lisa Kelly, Carmel Hayes, Cathy Smith.

Men’s Autumn Doubles League

Rob Kearney and Pat Conway were the winners of the latest men’s autumn doubles league. Dave Costello and Seamus Grey as were Des Windsor Mc Glynn and Marek Rose were joint runners up while Kieran Mc Carthy and Tristan Murphy Underhill were also in the points.

Upcoming Events

Our annual general meeting will be on 22nd November, our junior and senior Christmas hampers competitions are on Saturday and Sunday 7th and 8th December respectively while it’s party night Saturday 15th December.

Back to News