News: News 27-11-2017


Annual General Meeting

The attendance at our AGM, which was held last Thursday, was substantially up on previous years. Chairperson Lisa Brennan got proceedings underway with the minutes of 2016 AGM read by club secretary Michele Culligan followed by her annual report. Treasurer John Cooney presented the accounts which were adopted with grateful appreciation by the members present.

The election of officers for the coming year was a smooth affair, the only chance members got to vote was in the selection of membership secretary. Two new ladies were voted in on the Executive while four new ladies join our main committee which can only enhance our meetings going forward.

A number of topics came up for discussions, the main one being the future of Athlone tennis club. The consensus of members was that a major decision will have to be made in the near future.

Election of Officers and Committee

Chairperson: Lisa Brennan, Deputy Chairperson: Aileen Cunnie, Secretary: Michele Culligan, Treasurer: John Cooney, Membership Secretary: Julie Costello, PRO: Dave Costello, Ladies’ Captain: Paula Dowling, Men’s captain: Des Windsor Mc Glynn, Junior Organiser: Laura O’ Cluaid, Committee Members: Laura Hunt, Sine Macfarlane, Roisin Casey, Jacinta Digby, Mary Jo O’ Farrell, Martin O’ Rourke, Clem Higginbotham. 

Autumn Leagues

The autumn leagues concluded last week with elation for winners and promoted players. Relegated members can move up the pyramids by challenging or wait until the spring leagues in the new-year.

Men’s League
Winners Groups A, B, C, D: Sean Raftery, Martin O'Rourke, David Manser, John Cooney, respectively.

Runners up Groups A, B, C, D: Jeremy Clarke, George Bodor, Kieran Mc Carthy, Michael Flynn, respectively.

Men’s Pyramid: Sean Raftery tops the men’s pyramid followed by Jeremy Clarke. Harry O’ Rourke retains third place with Des Windsor Mc Glynn fourth. Promoted competitor Martin O’ Rourke is fifth. No surprise that the top four are among our youngest players.

Ladies’ League

Winners Groups A, B, C: Paula Dowling, Michele Culligan, Sine Macfarlane, respectively.

Runners up Groups A, B, C: Lisa Brennan, Ann O’ Sullivan, Laura O’ Cluaid, respectively.

Ladies Pyramid: Paula Dowling retains top position on the ladies’ pyramid. Lisa Brennan is in second place with Melanie Whyte third placed. Promoted players Michele Culligan and Ann O’ Sullivan have fourth and fifth places.

Christmas Hamper’s Competition

Our colourful annual Christmas hamper’s competition is on Sunday 10th December commencing at eleven and continuing until 1pm. Draw for partners will be made at 11am sharp on the day.

Christmas Night Out

Members interested in celebrating a Christmas get together should register on the form in the clubhouse, use viber or

Club Nights

Men compete every Monday, the ladies play every Tuesday while mixed doubles competitions are held every Thursday. These nights are opportunities for new potential members to come along and play a few games.



Back to News