News: News 31-07-2017


Midland League Division 3

Division 3 has two sections with the top two teams from each section playing in the semi-finals in September. Our division 3 panel is Orla Kinahan, Michele Culligan, Richard Frank, George Bodor and Des Windsor Mc Glynn. Their first match is against Birr Wilmer on Wednesday 9th August.

Midland League Division 4

This division consists of four groups with the top two teams from each section competing in quarter finals. The panel consists of Mary Jo O’ Farrell, Laura Hunt, Rose Costello, Dave Costello, Marek Rose, P J O’ Reilly and Cristy Tibuh. They also play Birr Wilmer in their first match.

Junior Club Championships

Lisa Brennan is organising the junior club championships to be played the week beginning 14th August. The competitions will be for boys and girls in categories under 10, 12, 14, 16 and 18. Members wishing to compete should register on the official form in the clubhouse.

Longford Open

Congratulations to both Jeremy Clarke and Harry O' Rourke who contested the Longford Open B singles final, the former emerging victorious.

Senior Summer Leagues

The Men's and Ladies' Summer Leagues are now arranged with groupings as follows based on pyramid placings. All matches must be completed by 31st August. As usual the Pyramids will be revised after the league on a two up, two down basis. All matches are best of three sets - The third set may be a 'match tie-break'. All results must be entered on the sheets posted in the clubhouse. No walkovers allowed.

Men’s League

Group 1: Sean Raftery, Harry O'Rourke, Des Windsor Mc Glynn, Tim Clarke, George Bodor, Jeremy Clarke, Peter Agbonobi.

Group 2: Pawel Michalski, Richard Frank, Martin O'Rourke, Kieron McCarthy, Rob Kearney, John Galvin.

Group 3: Dave Costello, John Cooney, Eduardo Ballesteros Ribera, John Bray, Marek Rose, Michael Flynn

Group 4: Warren Curtin, Pat Conway, Christy Tibuh, Mateusz Depta, Cathal Kenny, Tanmay Pande

Ladies’ League

Group 1: Lisa Brennan, Melanie Whyte, Michelle Culligan, Jacinta Digby, Orla Kinehan, Anna Walsh.

Group 2: Mary Jo O'Farrell, Gertie O'Rourke, Rose Costello, Laura Hunt, Joan Conway, Ann O'Sullivan.

Group 3: Roisin Casey, Aileen Cunnie, Stephane Kenny.

Junior Tennis

Clem Higginbotham has started coaching lessons for junior members every Saturday for children under 8 at 10am and at 11 for children under 12. Older children have lessons from 12 to 1pm. For further details contact Clem at 0864022490.

Coach Derek Stenson has commenced a seven week course for junior members for children aged from 4 to 17 years. The coaching is on Tuesdays and Fridays commencing at 4pm. For details of these sessions you may contact him at 0851080013 or email


Back to News